Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie question...carb issue?

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-2006, 11:59 AM
gmerr2
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie question...carb issue?

Hello all!

I bought a Sportster 1200L last week and I've put about 80 miles on it so far (rain has been frequent all week). My bike seems to have a carb issue, but my dealer says it's "normal for a new Sportster....it's cold natured...blah blah". Now, I'm new to Harley-Davidson motorcycles, but I'm not at all new to air cooled carb-fed engines. As an avid VW and scooter geek, I've torn down several, fixed carb problems aplenty, and I think my dealer is just blowing smoke up my ****. The problem is that, at an idle, when you first hit the gas it wants to blow back up through the carb and die. It doesn't do it every time, and it doesn't do it at all when you first start it up. It only does it when it's warm and you're coming up from an idle of a couple minutes..aka, at a stop light. My dealer says it's a normal thing, like I said, but it died yesterday while I was trying to turn across traffic on one of the busiest streets in Chattanooga....with cars coming at me!!! Now this certainly isn't normal behavior, even for most new carb-fed engines. I do know better. If it was a VW, I would instantly think I had an intake leaken somewhere as it only happens when it's warm. But if it was a Vespa or a Stella scooter, I'd just adjust the air/fuel mix and up the idle RPM's a bit.....Stellas are that way when they're new...you have to adjust the carbs 3 or 4 times then it'll just purr along.

My question, as a new Harley owner is this...."Is this normal for a new Sportster??" I just don't know. I haven't had one before....or is my dealer just basically saying "Thanks for the $15,000...now go away you're botherin me."?

George
Chattanooga, TN

Old 04-23-2006, 01:35 PM
spikehyre
Road Master