Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2nd class citizen

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2009, 12:20 PM
1200lady
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2nd class citizen

I was at a HD ladies garage party last nightand even the owner of the dealership said things that made me feel like my choice of bikes made me a 2nd class citizen. I have been riding for 39 years now and love my 1200 as she handles great on mtn roads and has plenty of zip. I am so tired of feeling like I am being put down not only for riding "only " a 1200 sporty but also the fact that she is a 1999. I am a recent retiree with limited income- happen to love my ride and see no reason to go into debt big time just to ride a new, bigger bike that I don't want or need. Beside, I am a Girl so see no reason to be bugged about riding a"girlie bike". What is wrong with everyone that they have to show off by being in debt?

Old 02-13-2009, 12:24 PM
OrdinaryJoe
Advanced

1200lady -

You like your bike ? sod the dealer ! All he wants is for you to give him $$$ against a new heritage softail.

And ... you have a 99 sportster. That means carbs, a hard-mounted engine (no silent-blocks here) and more good vibes than the new tc96 bikes. So in a way your bike is more of a harley that a brand new tourer.

And .. when the twisty bits come, you can dance circles around any big twin. Now who's got the 'girly' bike ?

edit : I agree that there is no point in taking finance on a bike. If you can afford it, buy it. If you need to borrow, it need to be for a house.

Last edited by OrdinaryJoe; 02-13-2009 at 12:36 PM.
Old 02-13-2009, 12:28 PM
rdss
Road Captain

I agree the dealer just wants your money and doesn't care if the bike right for you or not. If your happy with what you got then who cares what anyone else thinks.

Old 02-13-2009, 12:31 PM
Comrade
Intermediate
Received 1 Like on 1 Post