Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Non-start.

Search this Thread

Old 12-02-2008, 07:34 PM
monkeywrench
Stage IV
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Non-start.

Alright. Hello there. Where to start.

I've been working for the last while to get a 1967 sportster xlch on the road. Right now I'm still struggling to get the blasted thing to actually start. I have a lot of mechanical experience but it's all based in 4-wheeled creatures, this is my first venture into motorcycles and I'm kinda learning this as i go.

The bike is a kickstart magneto system with no battery. It's a 67 engine case but somehow ended up with an 84 Keihin carb on it.

The magneto has been overhauled and it now sparks beautifully. so that's not the problem.

I've cleaned the carb thoroughly, replaced the jets and set the float level.

When I try to kick it over I can get it cough once or twice about ever 5 goes. But that's it. When I run it through with the kickstart if easily cycles through, ie. doesn't feel like anything is stuck or fighting em.

I'm sorta running out of things to work on so I thought i'd throw it open and see if someone else knows the thing i need to know.

Based on my clymer and chilton repair guides/troubleshooting lists this is what i have tried to narrow it down to.

- clutch. could the clutch slipping cause the bike not to start? the chilton guides lists that as a possible non-start cause, but would that be noticable as some sort of resistance in the kickstart? i'm not sure how to tell if that's the problem.