Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

battery HELP

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2008, 01:15 PM
mississippiboy
Road Captain
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default battery HELP

as most of you know im a newbie trying to learn everything i can. I recently took my battery off had it checked the guys says it was fine "4 yr old battery with about 3600 miles" then i get a battery floater instal when i put battery back on! the floater has been on the battery since sunday night. i get home at lunch going to take it for a ride i smell somthing funny while inspecting everything. this is what i found. also this is the pic of the battery floater i bought! any help would be very grateful. ok i dont have a picture of the charger so im enclosing the link

http://www.sears.com/shc/s/p_10153_1...s+%26+Boosters

Attached Thumbnails battery HELP-battery.jpg  
Old 11-25-2008, 03:21 PM
cHarley
Club Member
Received 302 Likes on 231 Posts

Yea, I posted about those lousy "hollow post batteries a couple of days ago HERE.

What likely happened is that you tightened the terminal bolt down to tight and it pulled the mating nut inside the terminal post out.

No fixin it, go get one of the new HD AGM batteries which have soild posts. For the Sporty they run about $100.00.

Old 11-25-2008, 03:28 PM
mississippiboy
Road Captain

some more pictures

Attached Thumbnails battery HELP-harley-battery.jpg   battery HELP-battery.jpg  
Old 11-25-2008, 03:31 PM
mississippiboy
Road Captain

another

Attached Thumbnails battery HELP-post1.jpg  
Old 11-25-2008, 03:33 PM
mississippiboy
Road Captain

alittle closer

Attached Thumbnails battery HELP-upclose.jpg  
Old 11-25-2008, 03:34 PM
mississippiboy
Road Captain

by the way it looks ripped out but the post had been melted. i had to clean up drips of the post off the battery and bike!

Old 11-25-2008, 03:39 PM
mississippiboy
Road Captain

charley