Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Superbrace Fork Stabilizer

Search this Thread

Old 10-15-2008, 12:37 AM
m3apx
Cruiser
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Superbrace Fork Stabilizer

Does anybody have experience with a fork stabilizer? It's apparently available in the Group Buy.

I have an '08 Nightster. I'm a new rider - have put 3500 miles on the bike since July. I race SCCA Formula Vee, so I'm kind of used to running hard through the twisties. But, being a new rider, I'm still learning bike control - and will probably be doing so forever.

I find that the bike seems to "float" sometimes through hard turns. It almost feels like the suspension isn't settling the bike. Honestly, I think it's me and a lack of good throttle control. I may not be as steady on the throttle as I should be. I stopped into a local independent shop for some friendly advice. The owner has a Sportster, and he suggested a fork stabilizer. I'm just checking to see if anyone has tried installing one of these and how it affects handling.

Honestly - I think that it may be the rider who's more at fault here. In other words, I should work on my bike control before I start screwing around with the suspension. If anyone can offer their experience with a stabilizer, that would be great. Thanks, Ron.

Old 10-15-2008, 07:43 AM
Zimbob
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts

I ran a fork brace on my sportster. Loved it, tightened up the front alot. You can feel a big difference in the turns, the harder you hit them, the more difference you feel. I say go for it.

Old 10-15-2008, 08:00 AM
cadillac
Road Master
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I put one on my 2000 Dyna and it was very noticeable in the turns. We ride 2 up a lot on the Dyna and it has helped there immensely.

bob

Old 10-15-2008, 08:33 AM
Certainteed
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts