Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Nightster

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-2008, 06:55 PM
Joolander
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cool Nightster

Hi all. I've been thinking about getting a motorcycle for some time, and always preferred American cruiser style bikes over any other kind. I saw a Nightster the other day and was wondering if it was a good bike to start on, but also if its a good bike to keep in the long run. I've heard some say that its a women's bike, but then a lot of people say my Mustang gt is a women's car

Old 08-11-2008, 07:23 PM
BIGschwerm
Tourer

i love mine so far 09 nightster im 6ft 1" and 220lbs also ive been riding for 16 years now and have had 20 plus bikes from street bikes to crotch rockets (this is my first harley) and im very pleased with it. Jus my 2 cents....

Old 08-11-2008, 07:54 PM
Herr Monk
Elite HDF Member
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I could give you the whole "Sportster ain't a girl's bike speech", but I'll just give you the highlights:

They are the quickest stock "traditional" Harleys made... no ifs ands or buts... stock vs. stock, or given comparable mods, they will eat any of the big twins on the twisties and straight line...

Other than maybe a few of the Dynas, they are the only real riders bike in the traditional Harley linup.

The only, only reason to get a Big Twin over a sportster IMHO is:

1. You are doing 50%+ riding 2 up

2. You put more than 50% of your miles on the bike doing multi-day long distance riding.

3. You are over 65 years of age.