Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

questions on nightster exhaust

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2008 | 11:59 AM
Whiskey_williams
|
Cruiser
Default questions on nightster exhaust

Hey guys, what's up? I'm new to Harley, I posted my greetng in the new members forum and stuff, but I have a couple of questions about my Nightster's exhaust:

Can you debaffle them? ( the HD mechanic said no and that it will void the warranty,but I've heard of some mechanics saying one thing and others saying something else)

If not debaffle, can you drill holes on the baffle plate?

I have a 2008 and I went by a custom motorcycle shop and a lady told me that on 2008 models, you HAVE to buy 2008 exhaust cuz of some emission control bull crap. My problem is I CANNOT have this quiet exhaust. It's unacceptable. but I LOVE the way the stock exhaust looks. I want to keep my current exhaust but mod it so it's louder. I did the same thing to my old Suzuki M50, but it was liquid cooled so it may not have the same effects.

Also, I saw these Python III exhaust pipes that sound and look great, with a good price. but they were for up to 2006 I think. Would that work for me?

Oh, and as for the Pythons, they had the Python III and they had Python III "slip ons". Which would be better, the slip ons were cheaper, but why? And how do they work? Python also said if you buy their pipes you should get a PCI 2000 or something similar. Do you really need to do that? I heard you onlyHAVE to get power commanders and stuff if you mess with the air intake.

Thanx for any help!!

Old 03-03-2008 | 12:01 PM
DannyZ71
Extreme HDF Member
Default RE: questions on nightster exhaust

Somewhere around here, I posted about Rhinehart slip-ons. They're kind of expensive from the dealer, but they sound great. Someone posted a video clip on that threat and they sound awesome!

Old 03-03-2008 | 12:08 PM
Bradley Jones