Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Start up in cold weather

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2007, 09:02 AM
aus168
Stage III
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Start up in cold weather

I've seen some old posts about this. I am a newbie to Harleys, but one thing that I can't understand is how do I turn the headlight off when starting. Is this normal for HDs that the headlight goes on as soon as you turn the bike on? Seems to me that this will just drain the battery more when trying to start it in cold weather.

The last time when trying to start her up the batter just drained out and then I had to jump it with my car battery. Today when I tried to fire her up it just kept clicking away but no fire. After about 30 seconds the battery started to slow down and I could see I was getting no where. Any tips on best practices.

I have a 2005 custom.

Old 10-26-2007, 10:01 AM
BLKXL12C
Road Master
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Start up in cold weather

On all bikes Harley to Honda there are no light switchs to turn off your headlight. You could wire in a toggle switch but I wouldn't.

Old 10-26-2007, 10:45 AM
BWLucky13
Road Master

Many state laws require a hard wired headlight for maximum visibility and safety. Sounds like you have a battery or electrical problem--just get it fixed.

Old 10-26-2007, 11:02 AM
OldFenderGuy
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 23 Likes on 23 Posts

Since the mid 1970's street legal motorcycles sold in the United States have the headlight 'hard wired' so it is on whenever the motorcycle ignition is engaged.

There is no Federal Regulation that requires the headlight to be on during the daytime, but it is a requirement in most (if not all) States.