Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Choke..

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2007, 09:15 PM
ccmd2b
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Choke..

This may be a stupid question since I'm a newbie and all but just to make sure.. I have to choke my engine on a cold start for about2 minutes or so before I begins to run normally unchoked. Is this normal? Just making sure.

CC

Old 10-23-2007, 10:08 PM
carpet dude
Tourer
Default RE: Choke..

thats normal , cold weather even longer. no worries, enjoy. you can drive with the choke part. on till warm.

Old 10-23-2007, 11:23 PM
Dorkman
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts

You should be able to wean it to half choke in a minute or so, then no choke in another minute or two. I let it sit at no choke for awhile before shoving off. You get a feel for it after awhile...avoids carb farts if not warmed up enough.

Old 10-24-2007, 04:27 AM
Thumper26
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 48 Likes on 37 Posts

I agree, for a stock bike that sounds pretty normal. Get a Stage 1 done and you'll use your choke a whole lot less. I couldn't believe the difference!

Old 10-24-2007, 07:59 AM
SportyPig
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

ORIGINAL: Thumper26

I agree, for a stock bike that sounds pretty normal. Get a Stage 1 done and you'll use your choke a whole lot less. I couldn't believe the difference!
Agreed.

The ambient temp also plays a large factor. When it was 105 degrees I didn't hardly use the choke at all. When it was 15 degrees, it took forever for the bike to warm up.

Old 10-24-2007, 08:28 AM
Thumper26
Outstanding HDF Member

ORIGINAL: SportyPig

Agreed.

The ambient temp also plays a large factor. When it was 105 degrees I didn't hardly use the choke at all. When it was 15 degrees, it took forever for the bike to warm up.