Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie Seeking Guidance?

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2007, 03:36 PM
EntourageE
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie Seeking Guidance?

New to the Forum. Been lurking for a couple days.
Ok, so I started riding in 2001. First bike was Honda Shadow 750 ACE. Loved the bike at first, very comfortable, easy to ride and handle, however very lacking in the power department but I feel a good first bike. I sold it back in 2005 and have been bikeless since.
Finally got the boss (my wife) back in the groove and she's onboard with my purchase of a new bike. Gave me a $12K limit with our budget so that immediately drops me to the Sportster category if I want a Harley.

For just a little more background, I'm a 27 year old Navy Lieutenant, married with two little girls, who grew up in Wyoming just across the border from SD and Sturgis. I've been there many many times and my entire family rides Harley's. Not buying a Harley is almost a Sin in this family. I've always loved the sound, and look but this is my first chance to buy one. However I also had no qualms with my Honda so right now I'm basically looking at a Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom or maybe someting a litter bigger on the metric side but I also freakin love the Sportster 1200N. The only time I ever rode a Harley was my brother-in-laws 2002 1200 Custom and other than the extra power, my Honda was much more comfy and easier to ride. The center of gravity just seemed kinda weird on his.

Just want to know if it's worth the extra couple grand and if anyone has any comments/suggestions or regrets about thier 1200N or have previoulsy owned Metrics and now own a Harley?

Old 08-08-2007, 03:49 PM
Kolni
Banned
Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts
Default RE: Newbie Seeking Guidance?

With 12K I would buy a nice used Sportster with under 5k miles.