Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

venting your crank case

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2007, 05:20 PM
rbcss
Tourer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default venting your crank case

has anyone vented thier crank case? there a good artical on xl forums in the bottom end posts. I have the same bike he has and don't have the problem he has yet, but if you read all his post he put on a heck of more miles than I do.( I would do a link,but i'm not very good at links) and so far it's working great for him. it's a good read if your loosing oil.

Old 07-06-2007, 06:56 PM
quig
Tourer
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: venting your crank case

I am not using oil but am getting some on the filter. I saw that post and am going to do it with some changes. I am going to disconnect the hose from the crank case to oil tank and put in a pcv valve on the engine side. Here is where I am doing it different; I am not using a tee to the oil tank that will just vent to the air, I dont want blow by in there. Also I will block the breather bolts on the rocker boxes since it will breath through the bottom. The pcv valve will create a vacuum in the crankcase so there will be no leaks. I plan on doing this tomorrow if Neinfeldt in Wisconsin Rapids has a pcv. The ironheads breath through a bottom end breather timed with the oil pump and this is similar but better since the pcv will be more air tight.

Old 07-07-2007, 09:27 PM
quig
Tourer

Had to order the valve but tried an auto pcv. Went for about 30 miles and noticed the oil is about 20deg cooler. I hit 110 and cruised about 65 so it wasnt babying it. My temporary job cost $10 and the valve I ordered was 30. Well worth the cost to keep oil out of the a/c.

Old 07-08-2007, 08:59 AM
rbcss
Tourer