Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Customization - 2006 Sportster

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2018, 01:55 PM
BPParker
Intermediate
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Arrow Customization - 2006 Sportster

Hello forums, still fairly new here thought i'd reach out for some opinions before I jumped right in and started making purchases.
I'm new to the Harley family, just purchased my first Sportster a few days back and have been doing most of my nights researching
what kind of customization I can do to mine. So far in my must-have category is a new back fender, handlebars, and a seat.
Simple right? Hope I dont get to much backlash from this post, I know not everyone likes seeing these kind of threads.

I own a 2006 XL1200L Sportster, will post a pic below. And also to be a little more specific,
I want to kind of bobber it out, bobber seat style, rear fender to match, with some sort of lower
handlebars. The handlebars on mine aren't to high, i'd just like the more sporty look of the
drag handlebars or whichever they're called.
Let me note i've ran across a few seats, having trouble finding many handlebars or fenders
to fit my bike without having to cut or fabricate anything.

Old 09-30-2018, 04:13 PM
MikeRC
Cruiser
Received 31 Likes on 15 Posts

This is just my opinion but since the bike is new to you my best advice would be to just ride it for a while. So many people start buying things and tearing stuff apart only to realize down the road that they really wanted something different. If you're bobbing it out and cut the frame rails theirs no going back. Once you put some miles on it you'll get a better idea of what you really want to do.