Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie here..need some advice..

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2018, 11:55 AM
Tristan Sigua
Stage III
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie here..need some advice..

Hi i would like to get some advice for my 2012 nightster, what full exhaust would you recommend? Something that is not loud when you it’s in idle, but loud when you rev it, and what tuner and air intake would you advice too.

Old 09-30-2018, 05:33 PM
whylee
Road Warrior
Received 346 Likes on 246 Posts

The screamin eagle exhaust is not that loud. As far as tuners I like the FP3 but there are other good ones, depends on how much you want to spend. As far as air filters go, thats pretty much up to what style you like.

Old 09-30-2018, 05:58 PM
DK Custom
Platinum Sponsor
Received 4,221 Likes on 2,456 Posts

Originally Posted by Tristan Sigua
Hi i would like to get some advice for my 2012 nightster, what full exhaust would you recommend? Something that is not loud when you it’s in idle, but loud when you rev it, and what tuner and air intake would you advice too.
Hi Tristan, welcome to the Forum!

ditto what whylee said, the SE exhaust is not terribly loud, but a deeper/louder exhaust note than stock.

Here is a LINK to an overview of the popular tuners, with pros and cons of each. I personally run the Power Vision, but the FP3 is a good one too, especially if you like working with your smartphone. The budget option is the XiED's.

Very Importantly, there are huge variances in performance, based on what kind of air intake you use. They are NOT all the same. HERE is a report, with photo's and charts, showing the differences between a typical aftermarket air intake and one that will really make a difference in performance, engine longevity and tune stability.