Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New guy looking for advicewith that bit of. Info

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-2018, 01:14 AM
handirifle
Seasoned HDF Member
Veteran: Army
Received 1,709 Likes on 1,141 Posts
Default New guy looking for advicewith that bit of. Info

I am new to big Harleys, had a couple small ones from the AMF days but those don't really count.

A little backround on me. Am 65 and have ridden on street and dirt since I was 15. Have owned a lot of bikes over the years but nothing larger than 600cc. I have always wanted a Sportster ever since seeing it on "Then came Bronson". Yea I know kinda sappy but it's true. Looking at the specs I don't see enough difference in weight to warrant the 883 so the 1200 seems to be the target. Am I missing anything I should know about between the 2? I know the 883 has a lower final drive but that's about the extent of my knowledge of the difference. I have read the heads are different but do not know how.
This will probably be my last bike and a new one is out of the question. So with that little bit of info I would like to ask a question or two rom those that know.

I would like to keep price about 6k and in that range is there any year or model I should avoid?

Any helpful bit of info will be appreciated.

Old 09-10-2018, 05:52 AM
Steve Sportster
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 2,258 Likes on 1,096 Posts

I have a 2017 XL1200T and love it at age 66. I did replace suspension and installed a new seat. You should be able to find a 2007 or newer which will have the rubber mounted engine and fuel injection. Don't know what type of riding you want to do. If it's a bit of touring, avoid the "peanut" tank and get something with a 4.5 gal tank. The 1200 is the engine to get. Lower the mileage the better. You may want to avoid something that has been heavily modified.

Old 09-10-2018, 06:50 AM
grbrown
Club Member