Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Torque Bit Size for Rear Shock Fasteners

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2016 | 09:31 PM
hscic
|
Grand HDF Member
Default Torque Bit Size for Rear Shock Fasteners

My apology for this lame question, but I need to buy the correct torque bit size for the rear shock bolts. I have a lot of tools and my bits are either slightly too small or too large for the shock bolts....and I changed the shocks before so must have used the wrong size when I was a rookie wrencher..lol. Don't want to strip the bolt so need to get the correct size. T50 is too small & T55 is too big - I don't have anything between these two sizes...does anyone have the correct bit size so I can pick one up....is there a torque bit between these sizes perhaps T52?

Oh and please don't tell me check the service manual cause I did, and there are no fastener sizes in there. Thank you....just received my SG air/oil shocks and prepping for removal of the old and installation of the new.

Last edited by hscic; 08-08-2016 at 09:52 PM.
Old 08-08-2016 | 10:12 PM
Imold
Seasoned HDF Member
Veteran: Army

A T50 fits mine just fine. My torx set is Husky. A T55 is way too big. Hopefully your bolts haven't been previously messed up by using too small a bit., or someone trying to cram an allen wrench in there. If you have a cheap Chinese made set, you might try getting another T50. If it's the bolt that's messed up a little, a couple things you can try are putting some grinding compound on the bit, or, if you have some real thin shim (like copper sheet) or metallic gasket material, put some over the hole and pound the bit in.

There actually are T52 bits, but I've only seen that number in catalogs, never in a store. If a T50 is loose, might be able to pound a T52 in.... if you can find one.

Old 08-08-2016 | 10:58 PM
hscic
|
Grand HDF Member

Originally Posted by Imold