Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Getting V&H Shortshots on 2016 Iron 883, will K&N filter addition be enough?

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2016, 03:55 AM
Chad Ainsworth
Stage III
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Getting V&H Shortshots on 2016 Iron 883, will K&N filter addition be enough?

Hi everyone, I've been riding for a year now and have done many things mechanically to my own bike (and old cars for that matter), so I'm not a newbie, but I'm also not a professional!

I am purchasing a new 2016 Iron 883 in two weeks, and I'm wanting to have the dealer install a Vance & Hines Shortshots exhaust system, but instead of paying out the *** for a Screaming Eagle stage 1 air cleaner kit, I'd much rather keep the stock Air Cleaner and just replace the air filter inside it with a high-flow K&N filter. Then I'm thinking of having the dealer remap the fuel to match the level of air flow coming in with the new filter and going out with the V&H Shortshots exhaust. I know this is not a true stage 1 system by any means, and I know I will not be getting as much horsepower out of it either. That's not my priority.