Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Custom Iron 883

Search this Thread

Old 12-02-2015, 08:26 AM
wllfthn
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Custom Iron 883

Hello all. New to the forums as well as the motorcycle world. I picked up my Iron earlier this year, June I think. I bought it having never ridden a bike before and it was only a couple days before I was totally hooked. I bought it from the dealer as it stands today. Haven't made any changes (other than removing a sissy bar and inverting the mirrors.) I love it for sure but over this winter I plan to start converting this thing into the bike I really want.

I bought this bike with the intentions of turning it into a cafe racer. That's still my plan but once I began my research, I discovered that it's a much bigger job than I had anticipated. I'll happily be the first to admit than I'm a total novice when it comes to wrenching. I don't know much about working on bikes but I know my way around tools and a garage and I'm confident I can learn.

Now, enter you guys. I've used forums for years as a way to get insight and opinions on lots of things (guitars, guns, tools, etc) and I love having this amount of knowledge in my corner.

I have a few parts that I'm planning on buying to get my project started and wanted you guys to take a look and let me know if you think everything will work out okay.

The first is a speedo & indication light relocation kit from DKCustoms.

http://www.dkcustomproducts.com/Spor...-SPT-SPILR.htm

The 2nd is this set of dimpled clip ons from RYCA.

http://shop.rycamotors.com/sportster...bzwaAitg8P8HAQ

Lastly, I was planning to get the coil & ignition relation with tank lift -- also from DK Customs.

http://www.dkcustomproducts.com/07-U...K-CK-RLC07.htm

SO -- My questions to you guys are:

--- Do you think all of these mods will work/look well together?