Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Motorcycle classes are life savers!!

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2005, 08:46 PM
brohrs
Road Captain
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Motorcycle classes are life savers!!

I had not ridden a bike in years and decided to take classes before I started riding my sporster. Well twice I saved my own life by grabbing the brakes in a panic stop at over 60mph and even though I went into a long skid, the stop was a controled straight line stop. If you have a friend or loved one starting to ride give them the gift of life with motorcycle classes. Its not for sissys but for the smart.

Old 09-22-2005, 10:00 PM
SPRINGER
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 3,270 Likes on 1,976 Posts
Default RE: Motorcycle classes are life savers!!

It's good to hear that taking the classes did you some good. When I got my endorsement, they didn't have anything like that. I can see where it would be very useful for a person to do. Glad that it helped you.

Old 09-23-2005, 02:25 AM
mikeisglidn
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts

well said!!

Old 09-23-2005, 11:08 AM
HDF Tech
Banned
Received 150 Likes on 42 Posts

It's a great idea for newer riders to take the rider courses. It gives you an understanding of why things are done a certain way.

Old 09-23-2005, 12:20 PM
stingray72
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I recommend the classes to all my friends that have never ridden a motorcycle. It's amazing how many guys will go out and buy a 120HP crotch rocket and have never ridden any sort of motorcycle. I cut my teeth on dirtbikes and rode motocross/supercross a little when I was young. I love dirtbikes. I think they give you a good feeling of how a motorcycle is going to react to certain things and most of the time you're not on asphault so WHEN you fall off you might not get hurt as bad. As always anything can happen.