Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Kepping warm in cold weather?

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2007, 01:50 PM
dirico1266
Tourer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Kepping warm in cold weather?

Hi All,

I am new to this whole bike riding, but here in boston it has been a cold start to the spring. The low this morning was 45 degrees but I decided to ride my bike to work because it saves gas. My job is 50 miles aways I was cruisen at 60-65mph. After about 20 miles into the ride it got so cold that I started to feel somewhat sick but managed to make it the whole 50 miles. My body tempature was 94.6 when I got to work which is mild hypothermia. It took 3 hours for my body to warm up. This is what I had on.

thermals, light pair of sweats and then jeans..

Warms socks and ofcourse my harley boots.

A long sleeve shirt, 2 sweatshirts, a harley vest and a big heavy jacket, harley gloves.

One benie cap to cover my ears and then a full face warm mask on top of that.

Just don't know really what all you guys are wearing in the cold but some advice would be good.

I have heated gloves (not connected today)

I will invest in a heated vest and pants if I have to..

I also have NO windshield..How much wind will that cut down?

My bike has no modification so far..

Thanks All, Joe

Old 05-03-2007, 02:02 PM
Biker Chick
Advanced
Default RE: Kepping warm in cold weather?

Were you wearing a helmet? That definately helps (all your body heat goes up outa your head, otherwise). And, yes,a windshield helps a lot, too. Were your feet cold? If so, insulated boots help (keeping feet and head warm are absolutely essential, or you will get cold, regardless of how many layers of clothing you have on). Really warm gloves (heated or otherwise) are fairly essential too, as numb hands make riding dangerous. Be safe out there.

Old 05-03-2007, 02:14 PM
mcouture
Road Master