Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

S&S Teardrop A/C Installation Review for 2013 Sportster

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2015, 11:43 PM
mike hawk
Cruiser
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default S&S Teardrop A/C Installation Review for 2013 Sportster

First off, understand that I am not a certified mechanic. Instead, I am an average Joe with an eye for quality, and I take pride in my work. I am also willing to pay extra for quality, and when I pay good money, I expect quality.

So, with that being said, my review of the S&S Teardrop Kit on my 2013 Sportster 72!

First off, the instructions are junk. Not even applicable to my model, even though they claim it will fit. Toss out the instructions, as they will be of no use. Two pages of "home photo copied" bad instructions and even worse pics. FAIL S&S.

OK... My Sportster has a bracket that runs from cylinder to cylinder, and in the center of this bracket is bolted the throttle body. Should I remove this bracket? Should it stay? The instructions don't say! Either way, the bracket has to come off. S&S FAIL! Only when I installed the rest of the kit, did I realize that the supplied brackets would have to be bent further than I would like to bend them, should I keep the stock inter-cylinder bracket.

So! Found out the bracket should go... Now, time for the breather hoses and clips! But wait! The hose clamps S&S supplied wouldn't actually clamp the hose! They were too big, and slipped down! S&S FAIL! And on the adapter end, they provided Zip Ties to clamp the hose! S&S FAIL! Zip ties? You know how much I paid for this kit?

So... I tried to compress the hose clamps with pliers, so they would actually hold the breather hose on. It snapped with very little force. No big deal, since I had to go down to the store anyhow to replace the included zip ties with proper hose clamps for the other ends also. S&S FAIL!