Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Custom or not question...

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2013, 04:53 AM
fatboy1729
Road Captain
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Question Custom or not question...

Mixed results on this one. Wish I had the answer. Went to a bike show this past weekend. Great looking bikes. The way it was set up was there were signs of the different classes that one's bike would fall under. There was so much controversy it really was ridiculous. Okay, for one, this show was run by not so much judges. Amateurs. Here goes. There was a signs there for 7 different classes but the 2 that got everyone pissed about was the Customs and the Stock. What is the difference one says. They were throwing some great looking rides into the Customs because they had chrome on them and in my honest opinion should of been in the Stock category. I am no expert on this at all. Now, my question. When does one's bike become a Custom? Hopefully I get some good reviews on this one...Thanks and sorry for the long post...

Old 08-25-2013, 06:09 AM
gunnerchevy
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I think what the judges were thinking was a bike that has had chrome added is classified as custom cause its a upgrade from stock. Basically stock is off the showroom floor

Old 08-25-2013, 06:41 AM
Tracker56
Road Master
Received 24 Likes on 20 Posts

IMHO, anything that comes out of the manufacturers catalog is stock. Custom would be any aftermarket parts or physical/mechanical mods.

Old 08-25-2013, 07:30 AM
dansax
Elite HDF Member
Received 51 Likes on 41 Posts

Originally Posted by Tracker56
IMHO, anything that comes out of the manufacturers catalog is stock. Custom would be any aftermarket parts or physical/mechanical mods.