Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Disc brake questions....

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2013 | 06:03 PM
mar1ne
|
6th Gear
Default Disc brake questions....

Hey Guys,

I got a question for you all. I just purchased a 2012 softail slim. When i was looking at the bike the salesman told me it had abs and the security package. The ABS was a pretty big deal to me as I have limited riding experience. I have owned two honda bikes in the past, but consider myself a low skill level rider. I have taken the MSF beginners safety course and plan on taking the more experienced courses in the future.

Anyway, back to my story and questions. After I signed the papers and was taking the bike i asked the sales guy of the key fobs and he responded that he was wrong about the security package and that the bike did not have it. It didn't hit me right at first but later i realized that meant I also did not have ABS. Well of course I already have the bike home so returning is not really an option; plus i have pretty much falling in love with her.

My question is how good are Harley disc brakes? I have done tons of google searches but haven't found a lot of info. I know my other bikes would lock up fairly easily if too much pressure was applied. Are the new Harley's the same? Or have the disc brakes advanced more to the point it is more difficult to lock the wheels in an emergency situation. Don't get me wrong, I know you cant mash the brakes and expect to keep the wheels from locking but do I have more leeway with 2012 harley.

I appreciate any constructive responses!! And, i do plan to keep practicing proper braking techniques, but I can't help but wish I had been a little more observant before signing the papers and driving away. Guess I was a little star struck by my new girl and just happy to be with her. lol

thanks!

mar1ne

Old 05-11-2013 | 06:17 PM
FXDForbes
Tourer