Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Dropped 2012 Fatoby Lo :-(

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2013 | 02:16 PM
Kephran
|
Novice
Unhappy Dropped 2012 Fatoby Lo :-(

Hey ladies and gents-

Need some advice on whether I'm getting all the replacement parts right. I have been riding for 3 years, had the 2012 for a year, and dropped it last night at 0 mph. My riding pants are getting caught now in the shift-kicker. I like using my toe so I normally have my feet positioned for that, but for the last week I've found my left pant leg is constantly capturing the back shift-kick. So, when I stopped I went to put my feet down and my left couldn't move because it was caught on that. The bike leaned left (if only it had leaned right, I could have held it up since that leg wasn't stuck!!!) and 1100 lbs of bike fell to the ground with me attached to it. I'm ok, but the following items are messed up cosmetically.

1. Primary Cover and Derby cover (chrome), original 2012 covers.
2. Left handlebar, shift leaver
3. Left tail signal light.
4. Left foot board.

I'm also adding a sissy bar and travel rack to the back.

So far I've found the following parts, at the following prices. I'm still having issues finding the handlebar and shift leaver. The bike is matte black powder with vance and hines pro pipe black and a power vision w/777 woods cams.

Also, huge thanks in advance for those who told me about J&S Jacks - love my jack! It's great!

I'm going to try to repair my damage by hand unless there's a reason to take it to the shop, but I am a bit mechanical.

List of repairs plus new sissy bar & luggage rack, listed together in clumps of how I think the parts go together -- if I am missing anything or overlooking a critical item, please let me know! Thank you!

Sissy Bar/Rack -- not result of damage, but willing to hear inputs on alternative set-ups to match matte black fatboy lo.