Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

ECM, PV and Exhaust note (sound)

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2013, 04:56 PM
HDFan0611
Road Captain
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ECM, PV and Exhaust note (sound)

First of all, let me say that Im new to motorcycles and also HD Forums, I bought a Rocker C, 2008 a months ago and add a stage 1 kit to it (V&H 2 in 2 big radius, HD Heavy breather cone shape and PV) the previous owner of the bike had the exhaust but did not tune it for it...I added the breather and PV, flashed a custom map to it (provided with the tuner) and so far I have auto tune it 4 times...(to cold to ride)

Now my question is, does the ECM "controls" for lack of a better word the sound/note of the exhaust? The day that I got the bike, the exhaust was loud, not crazy or obnoxious, but I like the sound of it...then after finishing the stage 1 and auto tune it...I notice the exhaust are not as loud...

I've searched several forums, HD Threads, google... and found different answers, like:

1- "the tune will not affect the sound of the exhaust. The exhaust note is mechanical, essentially a direct effect of the exhaust and baffle design."

2- "Loud meant overly lean. Faster flame propagation with a lean fuel mixture and higher pressures = faster/higher exhaust exiting from exhaust pipe = louder exhaust sound."

3- "The exhaust note will change based on the tune , lean or rich."

So I need your help... Can I change a map and make it lean in certain areas to increase the note of the exhaust? or the exhaust note is mechanical?

Thanks.

Old 02-22-2013, 05:10 PM
F117ewo
Cruiser

I don't think the tuning will alter the exhaust note much at all. There is some effect, as a rich running engine will sound slightly different, but I find very little difference. The exhaust is more of a function of the exhaust system and cam.

Jake

Old 02-22-2013, 07:19 PM
Sgt_Jim