Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Softail Slim Mod Help Please

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-2012 | 12:43 PM
gregeinsc
|
Road Captain
Default Softail Slim Mod Help Please

I have had my 2012 Slim for a little over a month now and after hundreds of hours spent pouring over websites and pics I finally have an idea as to how I want my Slim to look. I am no idiot when it comes to using hand tools, but I have never worked on a bike before and would appreciate any help you guys could offer me.

I have purchased V&H 2 to 2 big radius pipes and a PM air cleaner assembly. I know that I want to swap out the transmission door for one that is gloss black and I want to swap the cam cover for chrome. I swung by my local dealer today to try to get an idea as to what direction I should go with getting it all together. He loosely quoted me a grand to put it all on. I would like to offset that if possible.

I know that I am going to need a tuner...his suggestion was if I didn't plan on any further engine mods to just have the ECM flashed. If I wanted to do any further mods to the engine...get a tuner. His suggestion was the Screaming Eagle tuner, but they only sold the simple one for $200. I have been looking at tuners to the point of being cross-eyed and I know that I do not want a piggy back model. I have been looking at the Pro Vision, I believe it is called.

He also said that I am going to loose all of my trans fluid so be prepared to change that also. I would appreciate hearing from you guys that have done the mods I have mentioned yourself and any tips or advice you could give.

One more noob question...I have seen several posts relating to taking their rides to an Indy for a good tune....what is an Indy???

Thanks in advance for any and all help you can give this noob.

Old 10-27-2012 | 01:02 PM
ghostrider69
Outstanding HDF Member