Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Please define 'lugging the engine'

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2012 | 02:06 PM
Dynalmadman
|
Cruiser
Default Please define 'lugging the engine'

I am fairly new to this '11 FatBoy Lo, and reading a lot of posts to get more familiar with her.

On many oil arguments, I see guys claim to get best engine wear/performance out of the engine buy not lugging it. Exactly what is the cutoff? I mean these engines are not RPM screamers. When I first got her, I used the GEAR/TACH setting of the speedo to monitor the RPMs. Found that shift point at about 2500 to 3000 felt best, and just cruising down city streets at about 2000 to 2200 felt good.

Of course, not a lot of power there, and accelerations take a downshift or 2, but what do you guys feel are good shift points and cruising revs?

Thanks
Michael

Old 08-19-2012 | 02:23 PM
Stiggy
Seasoned HDF Member

Originally Posted by Dynalmadman
Found that shift point at about 2500 to 3000 felt best, and just cruising down city streets at about 2000 to 2200 felt good.

Of course, not a lot of power there, and accelerations take a downshift or 2,
Thanks
Michael
There's your sign...

If there's no power there, you're lugging it, particularly if you accelerate.

I run 2500 or higher pretty much all the time. Never under 2200, even on level roads.

Last edited by Stiggy; 08-19-2012 at 02:25 PM.
Old 08-19-2012 | 02:27 PM
TheTroupe
Road Master

Lugging would be if you did not down shift and just opened the throttle and expected the big to pull from just off of idle. It is generally not a good idea. That being said you can very easily get a lot of power at 2000 to 2200 rpms out of the FatBoy then lugging it will be just above stalling.

Old 08-19-2012 | 03:48 PM
dansax
Elite HDF Member

I'm sorry but do you really not know what" lugging the engine means" ?

Old 08-19-2012 | 04:02 PM
Josewales