Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Exhaust Question

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2011 | 05:13 PM
2012Fatso
|
Cruiser
Default Exhaust Question NEED HELP

I posted this in the tech section but i figured id post it here as well to get more responses. Im not a newbie to working on bikes but i am new to harleys. Well I just got my bassani road rage 2-1 for my 2012 Fatboy lo and im having issues installing it. After i removed the old exhaust i transferred the flanges and snap rings. Went to put the front head pipe on and it wont slide all the way in to the head. I noticed the stock head pipes were made to slip into the exhaust port. The new headpipes arent made to slip in they just sit flat on the port. Since the pipe wont slide in i cant get the nuts on the bolts to tighten it up. Anyone have any ideas? Any insight is much appreciated!

Old 12-03-2011 | 05:29 PM
eleft
Tourer

There 2 types of H-D exhaust gaskets, stock (tapered) & Scream'n Eagle (flat), much thinner.

Al

Old 12-03-2011 | 06:16 PM
mopar
Cruiser

You need to check the fitment again. If the flanges and snap rings will go over the pipes, the pipes will go in the head. I've installed Road Rage 2:1 on my Rocker and two fatboys. All installed with no problems. All of them installed with the pipe in the head.

Old 12-03-2011 | 06:34 PM
DR. V-TWIN
Former Sponsor

I think you need the S/E gaskets to make it easier to get the pipe into the exhaust port.

Drew

Old 12-03-2011 | 07:44 PM
2012Fatso
|
Cruiser

Originally Posted by DR. V-TWIN
I think you need the S/E gaskets to make it easier to get the pipe into the exhaust port.

Drew
Pm me your price on the screaming eagle gaskets if you can get them

Old 12-04-2011 | 02:08 PM
mswing1234
Road Captain