Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Charring up my plugs left and right! HELP!

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2011, 07:17 PM
spdmtlrcng
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Charring up my plugs left and right! HELP!

Okay so here is the deal. I have an 05 Nightrain (carbed) with less than 5,000 miles. I ran out of gas the other day (took off my gauge when I swapped the tank. Since then its been fixed) and ever since then, I have had a good bit of black exhaust coming out. Then the bike would start to misfire and pop under acceleration. I pulled the plugs and the were black. I switched out the plugs to see if that would help and it was okay for about an hour. Then, same thing. So then I opened the bottom part of the carb (I think this is the floater. Please dont flame me. Im new to carbs.) and cleaned all of that out with carb cleaner. Replaced the plugs and started it up. Same black exhaust and after an hour of riding it is misfiring. Pulled the plugs and they are black.
This is not awesome. I know I need to get the carb rebuilt. But before I drop that cash is there anything that I am missing. Again, sorry I am not up on terminology. Hope you guys can help. If not, its cool.

Thanks fellas!
Chris

Old 09-22-2011, 08:27 PM
HoggyMtnBreakdown
Elite HDF Member
Received 121 Likes on 87 Posts

I'm not a carb genius (have EFI, myself), but it sounds like you are running way too rich. I don't believe you need to rebuild the carb, just turn the enrichener down a bit.

Old 09-22-2011, 09:37 PM
pnw_hd_rider
Cruiser
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Definitely sounds like it's flooding and gas fouling the plugs. Since you said it started after you ran out of gas, I'd guess you have a piece of crap lodged in the needle valve seat keeping the needle valve from closing properly (the needle valve stops fuel flow when the float lifts up).