Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How to install led turns signals/brake

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-2011, 09:40 AM
blackcrow
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to install led turns signals/brake

I am a noob at this stuff. I have a 2005 Deuce EFI.

I bought a pair of led turns signals by Auto Gem and need help installing. They will be rear running and turn signals. I bought the Tailbones Converter and Smartequilizer.

My question is when I remove the old turn signals will there be 3 wires attached to them? if not, where do I attach the 3 wires? Does anyone have a diagram I could see?

There were no directions with the signals. Just this info:
Black = Ground
Blue = Running light
Purple = Directional light.

Thanks.

Old 09-17-2011, 11:46 AM
Joe What
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Do you have light currently mounted? If so, see how many wires it has it should be three also, same concept as aftermarket. You will need to get a manual or have someone with a duece provide you with details on where those wires are and what plugs to pull. Or, you can see what color the wires are and trace them back to a connection under the tank
Once you find the connection either pull existing wires if internally ran or cut and splice and mount and your desired location.. If you are going to going mount at current location then just remove and splice.

If you are in doubt which one of your current wire is which then use a multimeter and run the functions if you dont have one then run the functions i.e turn on turn signals and remove a wire if it shuts off then thats the turn signal wire.. but try to use mutlmeter first..

Old 09-17-2011, 11:52 AM
Tee&Vee
Stellar HDF Member
Received 97 Likes on 84 Posts
Default Bulb colors