Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Installing grips on my own for the first time any tips?

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2011, 08:06 PM
retdet1270
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Installing grips on my own for the first time any tips?

I'm installing Kuryakyn premium ISO grips on my 2010 Fatboy Lo. This is my first try at installing grips. I have read the directions and watched an installation video on youtube. Doesn't seem too complicated. Are their any tricks, anything to watch out for? Will I run into any problems not seen on video or in the directions. Any input is appreciated. 5000 miles on stock grips, I can't take anymore. Thx.

Old 04-28-2011, 08:09 PM
NoRegerts
Seasoned HDF Member
Veteran: Navy
Received 8,953 Likes on 4,700 Posts

It's as strait forward as it looks. A little hand sanitizer squirted under the stock grips will help get them off though.

The ISO grips are super comfortable!

Old 04-28-2011, 08:37 PM
Keithhu
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 5,609 Likes on 2,727 Posts

Hey retdet1270 - which video, got a link?

Old 04-28-2011, 08:43 PM
weezer_nd
Cruiser
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

use some emery cloth on the left grip to get the metal really clean

Old 04-28-2011, 08:51 PM
Iceman24
Seasoned HDF Member
Veteran: Air Force
Received 2,250 Likes on 1,641 Posts

Don't use glue on the Left grip...regular old hairspray works better. Also, cereful for your brake light switch on the right grip/lever. Use small piece of cardboard, or plastic to hold it in place. Make sure you have snap ring pliers too...have fun.

Old 04-28-2011, 08:52 PM
Sgt_Jim
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

OMFG STOP!

For the love of all things sacred that glue Kuryakyn gives you is like cement, and it hardens in literally 2 seconds. No joke.