Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

88 in upgrade parts list

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2011, 09:00 AM
scottnumero2
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 88 in upgrade parts list

I am hoping to get some advice here about upgrading my stock 88in 2000 Fatboy. I bought this bike about a year ago from a guy who was in a bad financial spot. Over the years he put a lot of money into chrome and paint but nothing for performance. I have been searching/reading through various websites and magazines and came up with what I think might be a good route to go to upgrade but I am not a mechanic. As money is a limiting factor I am going to buy these parts over the next 6 - 7 months and then have them installed by a shop. Any suggestions or additions to this list would be greatly appreciated.

S&S 97 Big Bore Kit
S&S 585GE Cams (would like to go to gear vs. chain)
S&S Super G Kit (just bought this)
2 into 1 exhaust (haven't settled on one brand yet)
Headwork

I know S&S is a decent brand, is there something better? Am I missing anything big here?

I would also like to get some decent wheels but haven't found any i can afford just yet.

Appreciate the help.

Old 03-24-2011, 09:55 AM
Sgt_Jim
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Revolution Performance makes a 98 kit, but the bum runs $2,400..

but S&S is a great name in engines and has been for years, since 1958.. buying a kit from them would be a good idea, IMO..
also, for 2-1 pipes, everyone's raving about the D&D Exhaust Fat Cat system.. I have never seen one in person, but hey..people on here are doing multiple threads about them so it must be something..

Old 03-24-2011, 11:39 AM
tmilo1000
Tourer
Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts