Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2 Part Question

Search this Thread

Old 02-11-2011, 05:44 AM
jasonleahey
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2 Part Question

ok .. so im new to this .. just bought a 2011 Fatboy ... and am already upgrading crap ( it never ends) so my questions are
1) What are breathers and what do they do ?
2) looking at either a thundermax or power commander both with autotune ...
ok so heres my thing ... I know nothing about tuning, nothing about what all those numbers mean etc... I basically want somthing i can plug in and it works out all the problems, dead spots, fuel/air, etc .... with out having to take it to a dyno every time i change somthing

Basically this is what i invision ... i get the power commander and auto thuner , hook them up , load the base map , and ride it and the thing takes care of everything ( needs nothing from me bec. im a idiot when it comes to these things)

Please help

Old 02-11-2011, 06:18 AM
FatBoyVeteran
Road Captain
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

No matter what you decide to go with, its still always recommended to get it dyno'ed for maximum performance. The maps may run the bike well, but the maps are never perfect....as they are all just pre-set and pre-loaded. Check around for a performance shop vs. the dealer. I have found a local shop near me that beats the HD dealer by almost $200 for the dyno tuning.

SE Super tuner, TTS, and Power Commander are all good choices. I have done a lot of searching on the subject as well. It just depends on your liking.

Old 02-11-2011, 06:27 AM
HoggyMtnBreakdown
Elite HDF Member
Received 121 Likes on 87 Posts

If you want something that's easy to understand and is pretty much plug & play, check out Dynojet's Power Vision. I suggest you talk to Jaime at Fuel Moto. Tell him about your bike, your concerns and your budget. He'll get you set up.