Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

HD Ignition Problem

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-2006, 02:28 AM
madmax1
4th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HD Ignition Problem

Need help diagnosing a no electrical power problem. '95 Fatboy no crank, no lights, no anything. Replaced battery, still nothing. Checked wires for looseness at ignition switch, seems fine. Where to go from here? Thanks for your insight!

Old 10-02-2006, 04:53 AM
oldslug66
Intermediate
Default RE: HD Ignition Problem

I had the same problem with 97 flstc,turned ou to be the coil, see if you can borrow one to try before you buy.

Old 10-02-2006, 09:34 AM
kellypj
Stage I

Please do not take this as disrespect or thinking that I am a know it all. After 8 years of being a mechanic I have found that some of the most simple things are missed even by the most sesond of mechanics. Start with fuses and relays first, they are the cheapest items to replace and they are usualy the problem with electrical. Next make sure all grounds are conected properly and clean (rust free). Next the battery, making sure it is conected snugly at the terminals and free of corrosion. Check the switch making sure all wires are conected and clean. Lastly, scratch head and ask like you did. The odds that some one else has had the same problem is high. Like madmax1 before me said check the coil. He does make a good point about borrowing a part because this are expensive to just start changing. I used to keep about 50 different coils and 5 or 6 different ECM's and so forth and so on just to check car's and truck's that had problems. Good luck, and forgive the miss-spelled words I normaly cut and paste from word so that I can spell check.

Old 10-02-2006, 09:42 AM
springer_
Road Captain
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts