Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help.....caliper won't release completely

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2010 | 12:01 PM
bgdg001
|
Stage IV
Default Help.....caliper won't release completely

99 Fatboy changed the front rotor and now put back together and the brake caliper won't release all the way. any suggestions?

Old 07-26-2010 | 12:06 PM
Kowan
Ultimate HDF Member

Might be as simple as corrosion on the pistons or debris between the pistons and caliper.
Did you lube the pins and pistons prior to reassemble?

Old 07-26-2010 | 12:15 PM
bgdg001
|
Stage IV

I did not......I am new to working on bikes so not sure how that is done.

Old 07-26-2010 | 12:38 PM
Kowan
Ultimate HDF Member

The pistons are basically cups that slide in and out pushing on the pads.
They are a loose fit in the caliper and should come out for cleaning without much trouble.
Once out inspect the caliper and clean the cavity the pistons sit in.
Wheel bearing grease is fine for lube. Only a tiny bit is needed.

Do you self a big favor and get a shop manual for 99 Softails.
You might get lucky and find one cheap on ebay.

Old 07-26-2010 | 12:42 PM
cdoggie
Road Warrior