Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Leaky gas cap or overfilled?

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2010, 10:46 AM
FrankT
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Leaky gas cap or overfilled?

Hey Guys,
I noticed the last few times that I filled my gas tank (09 Fatboy) I had some gas leaking from the cap onto my tank after I started riding. It seemed to primarily leak on right turns. I always make sure that the cap is on tight and screw it on until I hear a few clicks. When I fill up the tank, I do it while on the side stand and I try to make sure not to fill it above the fill hole. It is possible that I may have over filled it, but it seemed to be doing it recently. Not sure if the cap is bad or if it is just rider error. Any thoughts? Thanks.

Old 07-26-2010, 10:56 AM
Softail Tony
Road Warrior
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Im going with overfill. I did the same thing on my heritage, ended up with unleaded pants.

Old 07-26-2010, 10:59 AM
Gman in NC
Road Warrior
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I'd like to hear some thoughts on this too. My Heritage does the same thing. When you stand the bike upright off the stand it will start coming out. Going to try to not fill it up so far, especially in hotter weather. I didn't seem to have this problem when I got my bike new last August and through the winter though. Wonder if it could be the cap?

Old 07-26-2010, 11:33 AM
Mordrapheus
Road Warrior
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I have something similar with my heritage classic, although with me it leaks towards the console and soaks into the leather tank cover. Is this also an over fill. Only noticed this lately with the hotter weather.

Old 07-26-2010, 11:42 AM
kipd
Tourer