Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Deuce needs some WHEELS! plz help!

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2010, 04:01 PM
SVTlightning
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Deuce needs some WHEELS! plz help!

Hey guys,

New here from Alabama.

I've been racking my brain about getting wheels now for about 7 months. I ride a 2000 Deuce. Just when I thought I had everything figured out I put the project on the back-burner and now what I wanted ISN'T AVAILABLE!

I wanted to go with an 18x5.5 spoker in the rear to get rid of the rear solid (I know there are lots of fans of that wheel, but I am not in that category). With lots of measuring, I can't see how I could fit larger than a 160/60-18 on that rim and still have a stock setup.

Here's what I actually DO know... The 2000 Deuce has 3/4" axles; correct me if I'm wrong. So, all the ads that say "2000-2008 Softails" and have axle sizes of 1" simply won't work for me (I know it will work with a change-out, but I don't own a press). I see people out there who have shaved things to get a 200 under the rear pan but I'm not going that route. And, hdwheels.com states that without modification, a 200/50-18 can be fit. Any clues on how to do this?

What I'm looking for is my cheapest option on doing an 18" chrome spoker, and when I say cheapest, I MEAN it! No 1,000 bills for a wheel. I'd like to just go with the ebay options available for about 350, and space it out myself. Anybody have any resources on doing this? I'm avoiding machining.

Any Deuce owners or people in the know got any info for me???

http://www.*****************/forums/ha...ussion-22.html

About 2/3 of the page down is EXACTLY what I'm going for but I want a 60 spoke. That bike is about as close looking to mine as I can get, minus the rear.

-Sean

Last edited by SVTlightning; 07-25-2010 at 04:03 PM. Reason: new?
Old 07-25-2010, 04:24 PM
AzDeuce