Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Just bought a Fatboy w/ S&S 124...

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-2010, 10:19 PM
Dick Darko
Cruiser
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Just bought a Fatboy w/ S&S 124...

I'm new around here, but I'm not new to forums or to riding. What I am new to is Harley's. This is my first and I can tell I'm going to need some help with the switch from metric. As far as I can tell, here's my grocery list of things the bike needs ASAP.

1. Mirrors - something low profile and black
2. Speedo/tach - it has some high-end LED unit installed now, but apparently it couldn't handle the vibrations from the big twin, so I am looking for mechanical Speedo/Tach options that won't hurt my wallet too much... and I have no idea what I need/want, but I want to install it myself so any help is appreciated.
3. Turn signals - it currently has turn signals built into the license plate frame, but they're not hooked up. Again, any help will be appreciated.

Other than that, she's a cherry. That S&S runs like a champ, no problems so far. Tires, belt, brakes... all good. It has fresh paint too!

Anything else I should be checking out on the bike? I don't even know how to change the oil yet! Oh boy, I've got some reading to do. Thanks for any input ya'll!

Old 05-20-2010, 10:29 PM
DR. V-TWIN
Former Sponsor
Received 39 Likes on 38 Posts

Is this actually a Harley or a full custom build? If it is a Harley it is easy to hook up signals. I recommend the alloy art strut mount turn signals. Here is a pic of them.

I recommend the Arlen Ness ovals in black for your mirrors. You can see them in this pic.

For the speedo there are a ton of options and I don't have any good pics. I can get you all these parts at great prices. Email for pricing info.

Drew

Old 05-20-2010, 10:41 PM
Dick Darko
Cruiser