Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Calling all FatBoy Lo Owners

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2011, 08:54 AM
Sgt_Jim
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by CaptainMorgan_SOS
I have a question to all you Lo owners: I will soon have the 16" apes on mine and I am wondering, what's the likelyhood of being able to make a 1400 mile trip in 2 days on this bike this summer? I plan on going from Virginia to Oklahoma. I have no windsheild, no backrest, and I am still running the stock floorboards and seat.

I am wondering this because, in reality, this is my first bike, I'm 23, and the longest trip I have really ever made on it was a short 45 minute trip to Williamsburg so I really have almost no experience with this. I thought about trailering the bike but that is pretty damn expensive and I am not sure if it would really be worth it. Yes, I am a newb, don't hate.
I've done 600 miles in 2 days on mine.. completely stock, and i was fine afterwards.. however, that was broken up between like 350 miles one day, and 250 the second.. not 700/700 or whatever you'd like to do. but yeah, even on a super ultra glide mega godzilla CVO with cruise control.. that's a boat load of miles. if your Lo is like mine, you get about 170 miles to the tank of gas.. well every time you fill up, take like 20 minutes and just walk around, drink water, stretch, buy a hooker..whatever.. and if you feel yourself getting tired..frickin stop.

...and from what i've learned about road trips.. the worst part isn't getting there, it's getting there then realizing you have to get back..

Old 04-22-2011, 08:57 AM
DrWalkinboner
Road Captain
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by CaptainMorgan_SOS