Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Calling all FatBoy Lo Owners

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2011, 10:56 PM
cjbruno
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

LOL im assuming it is, or a mounting plate with two sided tape. im not sure what else it could be. My OCD is kicking in haha. The bike hasnt even arrived yet and i am already buying things to customize it. With the paint being denim black, the glass cleaner or hairdryer wont mess up the paint? forgive my ignorance, this is my first bike so i am new to this. Thanks

Old 03-08-2011, 08:29 AM
DrWalkinboner
Road Captain
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

I always use a heat gun and fishing line to take off badges then use some WD-40 to wipe off what's left behind.

Old 03-08-2011, 08:55 AM
FatBoyLarry
Cruiser
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

A hair blow dryer works perfectly for removing badging that's attached with the heavy duty double stick tape.

Here's a tip...use painters tape on the tank (or wherever you are removing a badge), and tuck it under the edges of the badge (the badge is lifted off the tank a little from the thickness of the adhesive tape)...

the tape will protect the paint finish as you pry off the badge with your fingers...as you are lifting one edge, the opposite edge is pushing against the paint finish...simple geometry.

I would be very careful using wd-40 or goo-gone/goof-off products on the denim paint...on chrome or clear coat paint, no problem. but the denim paint will "polish" with some cleaners/solvents...

Old 03-08-2011, 08:59 AM
Sgt_Jim
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I always used Ronsonol (sp?) lighter fluid to get goo and gunk off of things (glass, paint, plastic, etc).. works tremendously, although yeah, i don't know about the denim paint...