Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Stock 88" TC with S&S carb and V&H pipes

Search this Thread

Old 03-25-2010, 03:58 PM
Painkiller ll
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Stock 88" TC with S&S carb and V&H pipes

Hi there...

I am pretty new to this Harley stuff....Still have had my Softail Std ´06 for almost 2 years now. I wonder if anyone can tell me what I gain from the changes that have been made to the motor. There is an S&S Super E carb with S&S teardrop air intake and Vance & Hines Stepped Drag pipes.

What I would like to know is:

How much HP/Torque does it have with stock carb and pipes?

How much HP/Torque might I have gained with S&S Super E and V&H Stepped Drag Pipes?

I know that it is not easy to get accurate numbers without having it on the Dyno but would be nice to know approximately what it gives.

I live in Iceland so Dyno testing is not on every corner so to speak....And the one who has a dyno for bikes is not up running at the moment...hopefully this summer though.

Feel free to tell me if you have a clue...

Sincerely
Siggi Frikk

P.S. The bike had these goodies installed when I bought it ;-)

Old 03-26-2010, 12:14 AM
Northside
Road Warrior
Received 142 Likes on 88 Posts

That carb probably won't add to anymore horsepower on a stock motor than a free flow air cleaner on the C.V. The stepped drags would probably show a few horsepower increase at high r.p.m.s. The problem is they won't do much for you at lower and mid range where you normally ride. You will probably gaining 10 h.p. over bone stock if you had it on a dyno..

Old 03-26-2010, 06:11 AM
Painkiller ll
Novice

Northside...

Thank you for that info...Well...any increase from stock is positive... ;-)

Old 03-26-2010, 08:46 AM
wiseguy2day
Road Master

An '06 with a carb, that's a very hard find. 2 into 1 is your best bet for hp/tq. the s&s helped some.