Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Solo Bag Mount for Soft Tail

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2010, 06:18 PM
chuckchili
Advanced
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Swingarm / Solo Bag Rigid Mount for Soft Tail

I took off my Garage Leathers bag and noticed that the lower bar on my swing arm was already all scratched up. Using a post authored by member WARG as inspiration, I decided to try and make my own solo bag rigid mount. I am not a professional metal worker by any means but I thought I'd give it a shot in my spare time. The cost of the materials I purchased amounted to about $50 but I am satisified with the results and hopefully it will save some money down the road for swingarm repairs.

I used aluminum diamond plate so it wouldn't be too heavy but still strong. I tried to find most of the hardware in chrome but the ones I couldn't find in chrome, I got stainless steel. The diamond plate was about $25 and the hardware was about $25.

One thing I wanted to accomplish was to stop the damage to my swingarm and another thing was to be able to remove and re-install the bag with relative ease. After it was installed, I took it for a 30 minute spin and it worked great, didn't even notice it was there. I intentionally mounted it a little higher for a tiny bit more ground clearance. Hope this helps anyone who is thinking of tackling this project. Feel free to PM me with any questions and I'll try to help you out in any way I can.

Here's what I did:

Got the diamond plate, cut it and drilled the predetermined holes I decided on.

Used Coupling Nuts to set bag out away from swingarm. (Makes it about 1/4 inch out)

Attached diamond plate to bag, one inside and one outside. Used Button head bolts and chrome acorn nuts.

I made a small bracket for the lowest frame mount for a little more stability but mostly to keep the bottom of the bag away from the swingarm.