Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Bike Stalling with clutch in coming to a stop

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2010, 01:23 PM
northtroyboy
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bike Stalling with clutch in coming to a stop

I have a 2003 Fatboy (carb). When I'm coming to a stop sometimes it will sputter like it's going to stall out until I give it gas to keep it running. This is annoying and a bit embarassing. It seems to idle fine but sometimes this will also happen right after I've warmed the bike for awhile and go to take off. I've only had the bike a short time and was told it has a jet kit in it but that's all I know. The bike has about 19,000 miles on it. If it's the carb I've never worked on a carb before and would rather just by a new one and install it myself then pay the dealer to work on my old one if it's something I can't do myself. Any advice is greatly appreciated. Also I've heard of guys switching to Mikuni 42 carbs what's your guys take on them?

Old 01-13-2010, 01:29 PM
ultra07hd
Intermediate

need to know what carb you have and what jets were installed? do you have a Fuel management devise on it --- Fuel-Pak , TFI , etc.

Old 01-13-2010, 03:31 PM
Dorkman
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts

First step, check the plugs to see if it is running too rich. If the plugs are black and sooty you are too rich. You are looking for a tan appearance. You can lean it out with the mixture screw under the carb. All this is supposing the jet was near right to begin with and the choke is not sticking. Anyway, new plugs are always a good place to start and they are cheap. Oil fouled plugs are also suspect.

Old 01-13-2010, 05:36 PM
OTTO
Cruiser
Default carb

Hi if you have a stock carb that is a lot of the problem.Get a good carb S&S wake it up.It probably needs to be cleaned .And like the other guy said it might be the plugs.