Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie here...Deluxe vs. Heritage Classic

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2006, 12:27 AM
MoFutureDoc
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie here...Deluxe vs. Heritage Classic

Newbie here. Have a few years of dirt bike experience. Deployed in Iraq right now and saving up the cash to get my first HD. Looking to take the basic riders course to brush up and then buy my first Harley when I return. I started looking at the wide glide and low rider but now I think I've got it narrowed down to the Deluxe and the Heritage Classic. Like the softail family looks and the vintage looks of these two really catch my eye. Will ride to and from work in the city plus 2-3 100 mile trips each month and 2-3 500-700 mile trips each year. I'm 5'11' 175. Shouldn't have a problem putting feet on the ground with either and thinking the Deluxe might actually need to take the seat back and/or push pegs forward. I have heard nothing but great things about the Deluxe as far as handling and like the slimmed down look. On the other hand, the Heritage Classic is definitely the most bang for the buck as far as accessories included to go for those longer trips and the occassional two-up rides and looks great with the bags and pillion off too. Also heard that the Heritage is more comfortable on the long hauls. Could use any input from experience.

On a side note- I'm only 24. Shouldn't I be looking at a V-rod or a Night Train. Haha. I guess they say you gotta go with what you like and those vintage looks just blow me away. I'm sure the price-tag will too though when I get it.

Old 07-16-2006, 12:56 AM
UltraBrian
Road Warrior
Default RE: Newbie here...Deluxe vs. Heritage Classic