Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Shifter not returning

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2009, 06:33 PM
evil_monster
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Shifter not returning

Yesterday, I had a problem with my shifter. It's not returning. when I press down (heel toe) I have to tap the front part to make it returj so I can shift again. I used a little WD40, but I don't think that's it. any ideas??

Old 03-03-2009, 06:43 PM
lava red
Cruiser

It needs to be greased they use to have grease fitting on them ????? Why they stoped I dont know.I took mine apart and ground the shaft down a little works great.

Old 03-03-2009, 06:57 PM
evil_monster
Advanced

Originally Posted by lava red
It needs to be greased they use to have grease fitting on them ????? Why they stoped I dont know.I took mine apart and ground the shaft down a little works great.
I'm still new to this bike...is there a way without taking anything apart?

Old 03-03-2009, 06:58 PM
anubisss
Banned
Received 17 Likes on 12 Posts

I think jhe means he pulled the shifter levers off and greased the spline. It's one bolt per shifter lever. Pretty simple.

Old 03-03-2009, 07:02 PM
tlb
Elite HDF Member
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

look at the forward part of the shifter assembly. the linkage connects to an arm, the arm connects to a shaft that goes through a housing, the shaft connects to the shift arms. where is goes through the housing needs oiled. if you got dirt or rust you may have to take it apart and clean and lube. that's where my problems was. I sprayed it out with brake cleaner several times and lubed with some liquid wrench. I have not this the problem in the last year and half.

Old 03-03-2009, 07:04 PM
lava red
Cruiser

Not really, inside were the shaft goes through it dries out .I dont think its a closed seal you maybe able to spray something in there. But it will come back.