Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Lower RPM with EFI motor ?

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-2009 | 10:24 PM
LowBoy08
|
Advanced
Question Lower RPM with EFI motor ?

I know, I know.... everybody says the familiar "Potato-Potato" rumble is thing of the past with modern EFI bikes. Nowdays bikes should'n run under 1000 RPM or so, mainly to avoid low oil pressure & cause the EFI control needs constant & regular voltage, bla bal bla...
I'm a newbie to EFI, while agreeing with to the low oil pressure / voltage argument, could it be possible to lower RPM down to 850/900 by programming new EFI controler & replacing original oil pump & alternator with high output aftermarket components ?

I'm ready to spend quite a few $$$ (don't tell the wife...) to get that old familiar rumble but since I know close to nothing about EFI, I'l wait & carefully read all of your comments before I take any decisions.

Thank's for the feedbacks.......... Martin. (08 Softail)

Attached Thumbnails Lower RPM with EFI motor ?-fxstc-garage.jpg   Lower RPM with EFI motor ?-fxstc-web.jpg  
Old 02-28-2009 | 10:43 PM
KumaRide
Elite HDF Member

The cam I just installed makes EFI sound much better A higher lift cam and more compression would probably add even a lumpier sound...

Old 02-28-2009 | 10:48 PM
kromdom
Road Warrior

+1...cam it to get that loping sound back!

Old 02-28-2009 | 11:00 PM
crazybastid83
Banned

You cant get around it, if you want a good oil supply. If you want a lope, like the others say, get a cam

Last edited by crazybastid83; 02-28-2009 at 11:01 PM. Reason: spelling
Old 02-28-2009 | 11:00 PM
monster fxstc
Banned