Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Considering apes... now how high?

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2009 | 11:05 AM
Brandons_Deluxe
|
Cruiser
Default Considering apes... now how high?

First I wanna say what a great siteand great people here. I have found many ideas and answers to questions about my scoot.

My scoot is a 2008 Deluxe and I wanna start flying with apes. If I understand correctly, the stock setup is 6" risers, with 5" inch handlebar rise for a total of 11". I want go about 5 inches higher to put them about shoulder level, I am 5'8". So if my math is correct, and I am no expert in this area, I am looking at about 14" with 1.5" risers for a total of 15.5" or should I push it to 16" with 1.5" risers for a total of 17.5"?

I am looking at these: http://www.carlinidesign.com/handleb...s/flyin125.php and from what I read they run a little high.

The next question is how long should the wire extensions and cable extensions be?

Here she is now, but doesnt she need to go flying!!!!

Thanks in advance!

Attached Thumbnails Considering apes... now how high?-img_0029.jpg  
Old 02-16-2009 | 11:07 AM
anubisss
Banned

16"s all the wya. That is what I have except mine are wild ones. Cables lengths I can't help as i t has been a long time since the swap.

Old 02-16-2009 | 11:09 AM
dusty2221
Road Master

Check out my album, I just went with the 14" Flyin apes and the Carlini diamond riser. I am just under 5'8" and would not want them taller. I have a list of all the cable lengths/part numbers if you are intrested.

Old 02-16-2009 | 01:24 PM
Xuallus
Road Master

If you can, sit on a few bikes with different bars to see what is the most comfortable for you...