Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Question About handlebars???

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2006, 11:25 PM
JKHeritage
Stage II
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question About handlebars???

I just bought a heritage softtail with very wide beachbars. I am new to riding. Would regular handlebars be easier for me???? Thanks. I appreciate any help anyone can give me, Jarod

Old 04-04-2006, 11:33 PM
anubisss
Banned
Received 17 Likes on 12 Posts
Default RE: Question About handlebars???

wider bars equal more leverage, but it depends on how your hands physically sit while holding the bars too.

Old 04-05-2006, 08:58 PM
slack
Road Captain
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Call who you bought the bike from and see if they still have the stock bars. If so give them a try. If not go and sit on a few different Heritages to see what you like. There is no need to buy lots of different bars until you get what you want.

Old 04-05-2006, 11:19 PM
hotrod351
Road Warrior
Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts

ill go with what slack said. my bike came with apes and six inch risers. i sat on a friends bike, with stock bars, and it was alot more comortable.

Old 04-05-2006, 11:20 PM
hoggsbreath
Advanced

finding the right bars for YOU can be like finding the holy grail.. I've changed out the bars on my heritage twice..

riding with wide bars is about as easy as riding with narrower ones. you get used to what you use.

beware having your hands too high as the blood will drain away and your hands will go to sleep on long rides. bars that are too low sometimes makes your posture bad - you lean forward or curve your back to reach them. bars that are too wide can be a problem if you split lanes in traffic.