Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Is my Softail rear suspension adjustable?

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2022 | 01:22 PM
Craigny
|
Road Master
Default Is my Softail rear suspension adjustable?

Ok all if you can, help me out here...so even though I am a newb when it comes to softail suspension i know my rear shocks have been lowered a bit. I'm thinking about an inch....not slammed but lowered for sure. I have threads poking through to the front of the bike and it appears i have one of the many lowering kits installed. (Check the pics) def not stock
...Although it looks great and so far seems to ride and handle ok, I am looking to return the bike to stock height for better handling and clearance...

My usual local wrench I've been using for years recently started a new gig working nights so hes been kinda unavailable for now so I thought I'd go to another indy by me and see if these are able to just adjust back to stock height without much fuss. He told me that this setup i have is non adjustable and that I'd have to replace the shocks or install another kit that is adjustable....to be honest he didn't seem too sure so he had to check something inside to confirm...idk....anyway if yall can check these pics, I've tried to capture it all from back to front and then a pic of the whole setup....let me know if I can adjust these back to stock....thanks!

Old 05-09-2022 | 02:42 PM
hattitude
Seasoned HDF Member

The shocks can absolutely be adjusted... That new Indy you consulted doesn't know what he is talking about... or you totally misunderstood what he was saying..

Last edited by hattitude; 05-09-2022 at 03:18 PM.
The following users liked this post:
HarleyHappy (09-16-2022)
Old 05-09-2022 | 02:54 PM
hattitude
Seasoned HDF Member

Using your pic to show adjustment points:

HarleyHappy (09-16-2022)
Old 05-09-2022 | 03:15 PM
hattitude
Seasoned HDF Member