Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Security System

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2019, 07:12 PM
Daniel K
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Security System

Dear All,

Greetings from newbie here.
I recently imported HD Fatboy from Japan and I have some doubts on security System.
The bike came with no key fobs. And the agent ( Importer ) simply said that security system is option and this bike doesn’t have.
However, I notice the security lamp on ODO lit about 4-5 sec (after I turn on the ignition) and off
After checking on manual, I found instruction to play with PIN code and setup things. As I am curious about this and I try to play with PIN.

As instruction, I turn on ignition, then switch kill switch RUN-OFF-RUN-OFF-RUN-Left-Left.
Then ODO display shown “ENTER PIN” and again Press Right Indicator. The existing PIN is Blank, nothing there.
Long story short, finally I enter new pin successfully. And when I repeat the procedure, now I see my PIN and existing PIN.

I suspect that the original dealer keep fob at somewhere in bike, but I my model doesn’t seem to have much extra space. I checked under the seat, inside head lamp, inside air cleaner housing with the hope of FOB is sticking inside. But there’s none,

my questions are,

(1) Based on my findings, is my bike installed with smart security system?
(2) is it possible that Key Fob is somewhere in Bike?
(3) if I have security system, can I order Key Fob from HD and activate myself?

thanks a lot in advance,
Cheers Mates.

Old 02-18-2019, 09:19 AM
tmac00333
Grand HDF Member
Received 1,810 Likes on 1,175 Posts

He could possibly sell the key fob to someone who could then use it to steal the bike. Just saying...

Old 02-18-2019, 07:01 PM
Daniel K
1st Gear

Forget to mention that I can use Bike normally. No problem at all. But I have to lock Ignition switch as the security system couldn't arm.