Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Relocating foot peg mount and exhaust question ‘18 Fat Bob

Search this Thread

Old 07-02-2018, 01:05 PM
Silentlight
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Relocating foot peg mount and exhaust question ‘18 Fat Bob

Hi everyone,
Reposting here after putting it up on the Dyna page.

The '18 Fat Bob is my first Harley and I love it! Coming from BMW, Triumph and crotch rockets before that, I'm still learning this bike after 140 miles.

I just installed the VH Short Shots on my Fat Bob and have been struggling to figure out a couple of things regarding the rear foot peg mounts.

1. Can't remove the mounts even with an impact drill. My buddy suggests either an airgun or it might need heat due to locktite?
2. Even if I get the mounts off the bike, and the other from the stock exhaust bracket which is now off the bike, where can i place them? Is the hole with the plastic cover suitable with the stock bolts?
3. Will my bike be running too lean or rich with just the SS pipes added? Wondering if I will need to get it tuned or a power commander to correct the air/fuel mix.

Thanks in advance!
Mark

Old 07-04-2018, 11:02 PM
izzyryder
Road Warrior
Received 87 Likes on 63 Posts

Use a long breaker bar for the foot peg bolt. I had an impact but the breaker bar works better.

Yes, take out that black plug, your foot mount bolt will thread in there. You may want to reposition the one on the other side of the bike so they are both in the same spot.

I would tune the bike.

Old 07-05-2018, 12:52 AM
iHodor
Road Warrior
Received 442 Likes on 321 Posts